Established in 1909, the town was named after Henry N. Pharr, a sugar planter from Louisiana. It is a center for vegetables, citrus and cotton, and it is home to Winter Texans. Visitors find modern RV resorts and tourist-related activities. Access to Mexico is available via U.S. 281 and the Pharr/Reynosa International Bridge.
St. Jude's Catholic Church's beautiful gardens offer a setting for quiet meditations. The gardens are always open. 505 S. Ironwood. Memorial Park, at corner of Egly and Canna streets honors area veterans lost or missing in combat during wartime.