Farmersville, named by settlers for their chief occupation, was incorporated in 1873. By 1900, the town had six cotton gins and two railroad lines with six passenger trains per day. By 1930, Farmersville was well known as the "Onion Capital of North Texas," shipping more than 1,000 carloads each year of "East Collin Sweets."
Today, this Main Street City features many restored turn-of-the-century buildings, offering shopping and dining. The Victorian-style Bain-Honaker House, built in 1865 and restored to its 1902 condition, is open for tours by appointment with the visitor's center. Historical walking tour guides and downtown shopping guides also are available.
Events include Audie Murphy Day in June and the Old Time Saturday Celebration on the first Saturday in October. The Farmers and Fleas Market, on the first Saturday of each month, is held at the Historic Onion Shed. 972/784-6846.