Settled in 1847, the community soon had two institutions of higher learning. The small schools thrived for a while but faded in 1867 when the community was almost wiped out by a yellow fever epidemic. The rural community still reflects the quiet pace of bygone times. The town has more than 25 Recorded Texas Historic Landmarks and 10 sites in the National Register of Historic Places, including the Main Street Historic District.
The Chappell Hill Visitor Reception Center is in the 1855 Henry C. Brandt house. Historic downtown district tours are available through a local organization. 979/836-6033.
Events include the Bluebonnet Festival of Texas in the spring and the Scarecrow Festival in the fall.