The fort was established in 1834 by the Parker family to protect a settlement. In 1836, a surprise attack by several hundred Comanches overran the fort, killing five of the Parker family and carrying into captivity five others, including 9-year-old Cynthia Ann Parker. She grew up, married Comanche chief Peta Nocona and lived with the tribe until she was captured 24 years later with her 2-year-old daughter. She also was the mother of the last great Comanche chief, Quanah Parker. Cynthia Ann never became reconciled to her forced return to her white kin, and she tried several times to escape, but she never saw her Comanche family again.
The fort features pioneer memorabilia, an authentic log blockhouse and a stockade, and a two-story log cabin. A self-guided tour of the fort is available.
Open 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Wed.-Sun.
866 Park Road 36.
Four miles north of town via Texas 14.