Settled in 1881 by German Catholics, this town was originally named Marienfeld (field of Mary). It is the seat of Martin County, and it was organized in 1884. The town's name changed in 1890 to honor Abraham Lincoln's Secretary of War, Edwin M. Stanton. Carmelites opened a monastery here in 1882. The monks left in 1894, and the Sisters of Mercy established a convent-boarding school that educated 2,000 students until most of the school was destroyed by a tornado in 1938. Abandoned structures remain on North Convent Street.
The Old Martin County Jail can be viewed by appointment. 209 North Saint Peter. Call the county judge's office to schedule: 432/756-2231.